In the time that I’ve been writing this blog, my life has gone in many different directions.  I’ve become very social-savvy,  if you will, to the point that I now represent 10 different small businesses in the Harrisburg, PA Metro Area.  I have become Social Media Manager at a very successful company, KollisionMedia (http://www.kollisionmedia.com) and I write for the company’s blog (http://www.kollisionmediablog.com).  I’ve also written articles for The Central Pen Blog as well as other various websites over the past year.

But something happened to me in 2013, however, that may change my life forever, I was hired as Part-Time faculty at Central Penn College.  Teaching has always been a dream of mine going back to my decision to go to Graduate School at Shippensburg University in 2005.  My journey has been quite interesting to say the least. 

Since completing graduate school in 2009, my job search was one of dismay, disappointment and heartbreak.  I interviewed for a variety of jobs that I should have had no issue getting, but somehow I never got that call.  As it has been well-documented on my blog, the Social Media Summit was one thing I look back at as life-changing.  So, with a few lucky breaks and proper networking, I was able to land my dream position as a Communications and English professor at Central Penn College.

In my time here, I’ve learned an immense amount, but also have had the opportunity to understand what being a professor is all about, helping students achieve their goals.  I’ve never had so much delight then when I see a student “get it” whether right in front of my eyes or in their work.  It makes me look back at professors that I’ve had in the past and make me wonder.  I wonder things like:  “It really seems like that person was just collecting a paycheck” or “Wow, this person really made me who I am today”.  I hope that my students look back at me years from now and think that I in some way impacted their lives for the better.  In my opinion, this is the true job of a professor; to help young students live up to not only their potential, but goals they have set for themselves.

Obviously, I wouldn’t be who or where I am today without a few specific individuals in my life.

My fiancé, Jackie – Jackie has been one person that has always been there for me.  I can’t explain enough how important she is to who I am today and how I got here.  Also, we are just under one year from getting married!

My family – My story about my family is similar to others.  I had a great family that supported me, but when I came home with bad grades they obviously were upset.  At times, I wished they’d just get off my back.  In hindsight, however, I’m so glad that they didn’t or else I may not be where I am today.

Dr. James Laux - Dr. Laux was one of my favorite professors as I spent time at Slippery Rock University.  He taught me so much about Communications, but also taught me a lot about life as well.  In my opinion, he was solely responsible for making me into the person I am today, and for that I am eternally thankful.

All of my colleagues at Central Penn College – I have had the pleasure of meeting many fantastic academics here at Central Penn College.  People that continue to push me to be the best professor I can be.  I appreciate everyone’s willingness to answer questions, assist me when I have problems, and to guide me through issues in class. 

I had an opportunity last week to do my first Workshop “Digital Media and the Job Search” last week at Central Penn.  Not only was it a rousing success based on attendance, I was able to get amazing feedback from my colleagues and students who attended.  I want to make sure that this group of students doesn’t go through the same struggles that I did.  I want them to feel the way that I do someday, having a career and a family that you love.

Happy Thanksgiving!

